Fog

untitled shoot-6851 copy 2

I am obsessed with the fog.  Even when I was a child I was fascinated by it.  It takes the known and changes it.  Reshapes it.  Making the known mysterious and beautiful.  Hiking in the fog is pure joy to me.  There has been a lot of fog here this winter in Pennsylvania.  My guess is that the drastic change in temperatures from day to day has a lot to do with it.  If I am not stuck in the warehouse working I will try to get out to walk in the mystery.

Several years ago I was sitting on the shore of Lake Nockamixon in the early dawn.  A heavy fog was rolling across the water and everything was silent.  It was easy to imagine that I was the only person alive at that moment.  The sun was just beginning to lighten the sky when I saw a darker gray in the grayness and as it grew in size and flew almost silently over me I realized it was a Great Blue Heron changing his position on the lake.  It was such an amazing experience.

These photo’s were taken on January 21st.  Mariton was having dinner and a movie and I got there early so I walked the trails.  It was so serene and the fog masked any sounds so it had an other world feel.  I wasn’t able to get many pictures do to the fact that dusk was quickly approaching and I had to be cautious of my step on the slick trails.

Leave a Reply

